## ECFR Members Recognized During 2023 ECFR Awards Ceremony

Published Jun 22, 2023

On Saturday, June 17, Escambia County Fire Rescue held the 2023 ECFR Awards Ceremony at Marcus Pointe Baptist Church. Emceed by NewsRadio 92.3's Andrew McKay, several medals, citations and certificates were distributed to several firefighters, along with the recognition of individual promotions.

#### **Career Fire Officer of the Year**

Lt. Jim Allen

#### **Volunteer Fire Officer of the Year**

District Chief Brandon Stevens

#### **Career Firefighter of the Year**

• FF David Carballosa

#### **Volunteer Firefighter of the Year**

FF Jay Ates

#### **Lieutenant Terrell Jackson Award**

• FF Channin O'Connor

#### **District Chief Dwain Bradshaw Award**

• FF Christianne Barry

#### **Promotions**

The following individuals were promoted to the position of Lieutenant:

- Lt. Justin Marcum
- Lt. Kyle Saxton
- Lt. Phillip Hoffman
- Lt. John Longsworth
- Lt. Jacob Creighton
- Lt. JP Owens
- Lt. Tom Schwarz

The following individuals were promoted to the position of Captain:

• Capt. Scott Averill

- Capt. Wesley Barnett
- Capt. Dan Kunz

The following individuals transferred from company officer positions to training and safety lieutenants:

- Lt. Jim Allen
- Lt. Daniel Akerman
- Lt. TJ Smith

#### **Hurricane Ian Deployment Ribbon**

- Deputy Chief Paul Williams
- Assistant District Chief Yoshimi Core
- Lt. Nick Gradia
- Lt. Keith Chapman
- Lt. Jim Allen
- FF Kenny Fehl
- FF Chris Knezenski

#### **Retiree Service Recognition Medal**

- Capt. Craig Ammons
- Lt. John Van Matre
- Lt. Steve Bode
- Lt. Bill Halfacre

#### **Final Alarm Medal**

- Retired District Chief Regi Burkett
- FF J.B. Johnson

## **Civilian Lifesaving Award**

- John Haynes
- Kristina Barth

### **Service Recognition Medal**

- Warehouse Supervisor John Elswick
- Division Chief Greg Campanella
- Battalion Chief Jon Hollingsworth
- Division Chief Joe Quinn
- Lt. Jeff Tavener
- Lt. Tad Bush
- FF Jason Rocco

# Distinguished Service Medal (Structure Fire with Rescue of Trapped Victim on 8/27/2021)

- Lt. Ronson Cloer
- FF Robert Held

## Company Citation (Structure Fire with Rescue of Trapped Victim on 8/27/2021)

- Lt. Joey Jasionowski
- FF Scott Walther
- FF Robert Vardeman
- FF Nick Segner

#### **Medal of Courage (Motor Vehicle Crash with Extrication on 9/19/2021)**

- Lt. Daniel Mills
- FF Kenny Fehl
- FF Will Smith

## Distinguished Service Medal (Saved a Choking Victim on 6/22/2021 and Saved a Cardiac Arrest Victim on 8/3/2021)

• Division Chief Joe Quinn

#### **Distinguished Service Medal (Saved a Firefighter in Cardiac Arrest)**

- Lt. Sean King
- Lt. Nick Gradia
- Lt. TJ Smith
- Lt. lan Sumner
- FF Peter Welch
- FF Robert Held
- FF Brian Kraatz
- FF Michael Iglesias
- FF Baylen Payne

### **Company Citation with Ribbon (Saved a Firefighter in Cardiac Arrest)**

- Lt. Jeff Tavener
- FF JP Norris
- FF Ryan Callahan
- FF Clint Miller

### **Medal of Courage (Mayday Incident at Jasmine Creek Apartments)**

• Lt. Jim Beagle

#### **Company Citation (Mayday Incident at Jasmine Creek Apartments)**

- FF Jacob Hoskins
- FF Brent Nesmith
- FF Garett Chandler

#### **Medal of Courage (Mayday Incident on Mathison Road)**

- FF Dale Dirks
- FF Jacob Hoskins

# Company Citation with Ribbon (Water Rescue Involving Multiple Victims on 1/4/2023)

- Capt. Wesley Barnett
- Lt. Josh Rowe
- FF/Paramedic Guy Meredith
- FF Rick Mauro
- FF Robert Stivers
- FF Mattox Chapman

## Company Citation with Ribbon (Water Rescue Involving Multiple Victims on 3/16/2022)

- Lt./Paramedic Jeff Tavener
- FF JP Norris
- FF Stephen Service
- FF Matt Van Matre

### **Company Citation (Motor Vehicle Crash with Extrication 9/22/2022)**

- Lt. Dimitri Jansen
- FF Donovan Murphy
- FF Michael Maddrey
- FF Logan McGuffey

#### **Company Citation (Saved a Cardiac Arrest Patient on 1/4/2023)**

- Lt. Jim Allen
- FF Tony Buscaino
- FF Mathius Russ

### **Company Citation with Ribbon (Motor Vehicle Crash with Extrication)**

- Battalion Chief Jon Hollingsworth
- District Chief Brandon Stevens
- Assistant District Chief Yoshimi Core
- Lt. Ian Sumner

- Lt. Keith Chapman
- FF Jacob Creighton
- FF Anthony Rizzo
- FF Nathan Montgomery
- FF Chris French
- FF Chris Knezenski
- FF Zach McMillan
- FF Jonathan Welsh

# Company Citation with Ribbon (Electrocution at Pensacola Christian College)

- Deputy Chief Paul Williams
- Division Chief Norman Robinson
- Battalion Chief Adam Bobe
- Lt. Jake Anderson
- Lt. Keith Chapman
- Lt. Matt Scallan
- FF Charles Bailey
- FF Kyle Muldoon
- FF Zach Aceto
- FF Aubrey Ashcraft
- FF Garrett Chandler
- FF Brent Nesmith
- FF Reiner Crabtree
- FF Jeff Huber

## Company Citation with Ribbon (Locating and Removing a Lost Person from Wildland Area on 11/3/2021)

- Lt. Scott Hunsucker
- Lt. Tad Bush
- FF Jon Quina
- FF Anthony Stafford
- FF John Longsworth
- FF Michael Maddrey
- FF Jacob Hoskins
- FF Ryan Callahan

# Company Citation with Ribbon (Locating, Treating and Removing Patient from Wildland/Swamp Area on 1/4/2023)

- Lt. Jeff Roher
- Lt. Dan Kunz
- Lt. Daniel Mills
- FF Tim Nagim
- FF Wesley Brandt

- FF Jakub Fajardo
- FF Charles Bailey
- FF Ryan Callahan
- FF Gordon Wilson
- FF Sean Straut
- FF Kyle Saxton
- FF Geoff Carmichael

### **Company Citation (Peripheral Entrapment at the County Jail)**

- Battalion Chief Curt Isakson
- Lt. Keith Chapman
- Lt. Charles McGuffey
- Lt. Jake Anderson
- FF David Carballosa
- FF Zack Aceto
- FF Josh Reeves
- FF Phillip Hoffman
- FF Brandon Figueredo
- FF Michael Iglesias
- FF Kyle Muldoon

#### **Company Citation with Ribbon (Motor Vehicle Crash with Extrication)**

- Lt. Dimitri Jansen
- Lt. Lyndon Halteman
- FF Michael Maddrey
- FF Logan McGuffey
- FF Donovan Murphy
- FF Justin Marcum
- FF Marcus Fairley
- FF Jacob Stevenson