

Categories (please check only one per form)

# Annual Community Awards *Nominating Ballot*

The Silverton Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to host the *53rd Annual First Citizen Banquet* in 2024. We are returning to the Oregon Garden Pavilion for our event on Saturday, Feb. 17<sup>th</sup>. The event is a time to recognize citizens and businesses for their efforts in improving our community in 2023. Nomination forms must be completed and returned to the Chamber office no later than Friday, December 29th. The criteria for awards are explained on the other side of this form. Past winners are attached. Nominate someone today!

☐ First Citizen ☐ Distinguished Service ☐ Business of the Year	<ul><li>☐ Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement Award</li><li>☐ Club or Service Group of the Year</li></ul>
Name of Nominee	
Nominee Address —	
Occupation	
	Contact Phone
Yes, I am interested in making the p	presentation if my nominee is selected.

On a separate page, identify and describe how the nominee is distinguished in the following areas:

- 1. Community Service: Contributions of time, labor, talent and other resources freely given to the community.
- 2. Dedication and Commitment: Extraordinary involvement in serving others.
- 3. Leadership: Examples of influence that might encourage service from others.

**Document your nomination with as much information as possible**. Attached testimonial letters, commendations, newspaper clippings, and similar items are helpful in the selection process. The selection committee, made up of former winners, business and community leaders, will base their decisions on the information you provide.

# **Nomination/Selection Criteria**

#### **First Citizen**

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for making a *broad* and substantial impact on our community.

## **Distinguished Service**

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for making an impact on our community in a *specific* area.

#### **Business of the Year**

Awarded annually to a business, either retail or service oriented, for outstanding service to the community.

#### **Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement Award**

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for sustained commitment to service in the community over an extended period of time.

### <u>Future First Citizen – Typically Nominated by School Advisors</u>

Age limit of 16-20 years old. Awarded annually to a local individual for peer leadership, community service, and participation in school clubs or organizations. Includes the Jack Berger Memorial Scholarship of \$300.

# <u>Club or Service Group of the Year –</u>

A group that has provided exceptional service to the community over the last year or years.

Return this ballot by December 29, 2023 to: Silverton Area Chamber of Commerce P.O. Box 257 Silverton, OR 97381 Or drop by in person to 426 S. Water Street in Silverton First Citizen 1971 Lorna Steinberger 1972 Bob Marcum 1973 Willard Hayne 1974 Bob Borland 1975 Carl & Irene Hande 1976 Gordon Henjum 1977 Joe Davis 1978 John Sims 1979 John Middlemiss 1980 Gladys Clark 1981 Paul Almquist 1982 Dr. Wayne Grodrian 1983 Craig Clark 1984 Dave & Joyce Larson 1985 Harry Vetter 1986 Vernice Cole 1987 Dottie Souza 1988 Raymond Kaser 1989 Olaf Paulson 1990 Glada Greenfield 1991 Nick Robinson 1992 Stu Rasmussen 1993 Herman Goschie 1994 Bill Hanson 1995 Dr. Virgil Pettit 1996 Chuck White 1997 Orville Roth 1998 Loretta Opsahl 1999 Vince & Babs Till 2000 Mike Overfield 2001 Robert Edgerton 2002 Judy Schmidt 2003 Ken Hector 2004 Dr. Wayne Feller 2005 Darby Hector 2006 Ann Altman 2007 Jerry Steffen 2008 Don Kelley 2009 Denny & Genie Stoll 2010 Terry Thomas 2011 Beth Davisson 2012 Dixon Bledsoe 2013 Kyle Palmer 2014 Jane Jones 2015 Gus Fredrick 2016 Cindy Jones 2017 Andy Bellando 2018 Kevin and Stacy Palmer 2019 Becky Ludden

Retailer of the Year

2022 Dana Smith

2020 Glen Damewood

2021 Hillary Dumatrescu

1987 Orville Roth 1988 Jean Wahlster 1989 Ernie Hento

1990 Cascade Farm Machinery

1991 Betty Twede **Business of the Year** 

1992 Blazer Industries 1993 Redman Homes 1994 Pfeifer Construction 1995 Silverton Hospital 1996 Cooley's Gardens

1997 Silverton Realty 1998 Leather & Lace 1999 Silver Creek Deli

2000 Roth's Family Market

2001 Silver Falls Bank

**Business of the Year (continued)** 

2002 Silver Creek Animal Clinic

2003 Silver Creek Gallery

2004 Silverton Ballet/Performing Arts Co.

2005 Silver Grille Café & Wines 2006 Wooden Nickel/Mac's 2007 Stone Budda/Purl District 2008 Fall Line - Jason Franz

2009 Silverton Fitness 2010 Pomegranate

2011 Michael Kim, DDS

2012 Holland Collision Service 2013 Seven Brides Brewing

2014 Our Town/Mt. Angel Publishing

2015 The Oregon Garden

2016 Harcourts NW Oregon Realty

2017 Les Schwab

2018 Bledsoe-Santana Team Realty

2019 The Pill Box

2020 The Satern Agency Country Financial

2021 Silver Falls Brewery 2022 The Lucky Leaf

**Distinguished Service** 

1980 Wyoma Jean Shoupp

1981 Glada Greenfield

1982 Jeff Brekas

1983 Christine Schwab

1984 Don Lowe

1985 Steve & Joni Goodwin

1986 Sandy Sanford

1987 LaVonne & John Haynie

1988 Clarence Taylor

1989 Scott Hess

1990 Keenan & Jan Foraker

1991 Mildred Thayer 1992 Harriet Day

1993 Richard Nelson

1994 Tonner Hays

1995 Judy Schmidt

1996 Patty & Dave Dunmire

1997 Tammi Cline Phillip DeBartolo

1998 Betty & Al Hollin 1999 Jean Corrigan

2000 Betty Lou & Harold Wellman

2001 Elmer Valkenaar 2002 Ruth Cock 2003 Evelyn Hynes

2004 Community Outreach Clinic 2005 Frank & Bernadette Mele

2006 Janette Olafson

2007 Doreen Kelly

2008 Laura Wanker/Helen Thomas

2009 Craig Roessler

2010 Bill Cummins

2011 Wed. Community Dinners

2012 Richard Carlson 2013 Kevin Griffin 2014 Marta Hazekamp 2015 Brad Brenden 2016 Norm English 2017 Sue Roessler

2019 Erica Rumpca and Mindy Duerst

2020 Sarah DeSantis

2021 Josh & Paige Echo-Hawk

2022 Meg Feicht

2018 Sarah White

Lifetime Achievement

1999 Dr Olwyn Davies 2000 Fred & Nola Parkinson

2001 Quentin & Lois Estell 2002 Roth's Family Market

2003 Carolyn Berg

2004 Joe Davis 2005 Don Dolan

2006 The Goschie Family

2007 Norma Jean Branstetter

2008 Dora Palmquist

2009 Steve Potter

2010 Antonia & Doug Jenkins

2011 Wes Oster

2012 Verlene Beard

2013 Rick Lewis

2014 Jim Brueckner

2015 Gayle Goschie

2016 Mason Branstetter

2017 Bob Holowati

2018 Elmer Valkenaar

2019 Bill and Sylvia Long

2020 Chuck White

2021 Otto Stadeli

2022 Arlene Harris

Junior First Citizen

1976 Bill Gragg 1977 Dona Pfeifer

1978 Kathy Lamoreaux

1979 Nick Robinson

1980 Bob Evans

1981 Bob & Linda Nuttman

1984 Dian Forster 1985 Curt Almquist 1986 Dwaine Wisthoff 1987 Gus Frederick

1998 Cory Cline

**Future First Citizen** 

2000 Terry Manning II and Katie Niemeyer

2001 Emily Yarbrough

2002 Kirsten Funrue

2003 Caitlin Sander

2004 Ashley Lively

2005 Kelsey Hupp

2006 Marie-Therese Senecal

2007 Elvi Cuellar

2008 Brianna Bledsoe

2009 Hallie Day

2010 J'Nyssa Baker

2011 Julian Canda

2012 Ross Martinson

2013 Macy Mulholland

2014 Valeria Vazquez-Trejo

2015 Kate Brazelton

2016 Megan Mannion 2017 Joseph Schmitz

2018 Alyssa Khieu

2019 Zahra DeShaw

2020 Charles Petrik

2021

2022 Hannah Bashor

Outstanding Club or Service Group 2020 - We All Dine in Silverton 2021 - Skate Park Phase II

2022 - Legacy Health Auxiliary