# Ottawa Board of Trade Adds Two Influential Women to Growing List of Leaders Who Have Volunteered for More Than a Year for Small Business

For Immediate Release: On March 24<sup>th</sup>, Ottawa Board of Trade (OBoT) welcomes Lise Sarazin, Executive Director of Le Regroupement des gens d'affaires de la Capitale nationale (RGA), Ottawa-Gatineau's francophone chamber of commerce and Michelle Groulx, Executive Director of the Ottawa Coalition of Business Improvement Areas (OCOBIA) to new roles.

Sarazin and Groulx, already active with OBoT, will move to the SME Council (small and mediumsized enterprises) effective immediately, joining other influential business leaders (list below) who have spent more than a year advising CEO Sueling Ching on what was needed during a crisis.

"As we start to look to Ottawa's rebound because of the vaccine distribution, I can't say enough about the tremendous volunteer efforts of some of our community champions who not only kept running their own businesses but dedicated themselves to quietly helping others," says Ching.

As OBoT is the Voice for Business, Ching has taken that input to help influence policy decisions at every level. Other OBoT groups, like the CEO Council and the Talent Recruitment Council have also been working diligently, even before the COVID-19 crisis. As a key connector and collaborator, Ching has also worked with other Ontario chambers, Ottawa Public Health, Invest Ottawa, Ottawa Tourism and the City of Ottawa, to name just some.

Says OBoT Board Chair Ian Sherman, "At a board level, the eyes and ears of our volunteer leaders have been invaluable for us to make informed decisions about how we could help. We made an important decision when COVID-19 hit to not just assist our members but to advocate for *all businesses*."

#### Here are those volunteers:

## Ottawa Board of Trade, Board of Directors:

Wayne French
Shelley True
Priya Bhaloo
Greg Skotnicki
Mark Nisbett
Brendon McGuinty
Sally Douglas
Erin Crowe
Erin Benjamin
Megan Wallace
Karla Briones
Andrew Arnott

**David Coletto** 

Craig Bater

## Ottawa Board of Trade, Economic Growth

#### Council:

Amanda-Lyn Smith
Ingrid Argyle
Karen Butterfield
Rob Campbell
Nick Quain
Kumar Saha
Jeff Snyder
Peter Van Roon
Rob Woodbridge
Carole Anne Piccinin
Shawn Hamilton
Brian Simpson
Nathalie Pulcine
Karen Brownrigg

## Ottawa Board of Trade, SME Council:

Andrew Scott

**Shelley True** Andrew Penny Dave Donaldson Jarrod Goldsmith Jessica Zhang Chapman

Karla Briones Kimothy Walker Lee Underwood Lise Sarazin Lynn Johnston Margo Crawford Michelle Groulx

Nancy Morris Rick Chase

Warren Wilkinson

## Ottawa Board of Trade, CEO Council:

David Ross

Francoise Gagnon Greg Hiscock Hugh Gorman Ian Sherman John Liptak John Proctor Julie Taggart Kevin Ford Lise Sarazin Mark Gouldie Michael Waters

Rob Woodbridge Ross Meredith Shawn Hamilton Steve Gordon

Neil Malhotra

Paul Wood

## Ottawa Board of Trade, Talent Council:

Wendy Trudel James Baker Ingrid Argyle Karen Butterfield Roddy Bolivar **Brent Moore** Cathy McCallion Sharon Rowan Julie Bélanger

Andrea Greenhous

To speak to CEO Sueling Ching about this, or anything related to issues impacting businesses of any size:

Kimothy Walker 613.859.3753