

ILLINOIS HOUSE BILL 4993

Chief House Sponsor: Chairwoman Carol Ammons Chief Co-Sponsor: Speaker Chris Welch Chief Senate Sponsor: Senator Ram Villivalam Chief Co-Sponsor: Senate Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford

POLITICIANS SHOULD SUPPORT THE CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE WHICH SUPPORT SMALL BUSINESSES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

Chambers of commerce provide crucial support and services to small businesses and local communities. They foster economic development. Chambers also support charitable and civic endeavors. They are integral parts of local communities.

The Covid-19 pandemic, which has persisted for more than two years, has dealt a devastating blow to many local chambers. Fundraising challenges, a loss of members, and other pandemic-related difficulties have all contributed to their financial challenges. Chambers continue to struggle, and prompt financial assistance is needed to support them.

GRANTS FOR LOST REVENUE

GRANTS TO LOCAL CHAMBERS

House Bill 4993 provides for grants to local chambers that have lost revenue because of the pandemic. Specifically, the bill provides chambers with grants that total two months of lost revenue from 2019 to 2020. These funds will be crucial to the recovery and resurgence of local chambers across Illinois.



ILLINOIS HOUSE PASSES LEGISLATION

HB4993 was passed by the Illinois House last legislative session and already has 15 sponsors in the Senate. The bill should be passed when legislators re-convene or in the alternative, an allocation of funding for this program should be included in the budget.

70+ CHAMBERS



SMALL BUSINESS COMMUNITY RECOVERY

Over 70 chambers of commerce have expressed the need for this legislation by supporting this legislation. Chambers remain dedicated to continuing their efforts to foster the recovery of small businesses and communities.

We are calling on Illinois legislators to pass House Bill 4993 or in the alternative, allocate a total of \$5 million for the entire program focused on supporting struggling chambers across Illinois. Given that Illinois received over \$8 billion in ARPA funding, this allocation should be made to support the chambers which support the small business community.



LIST OF SUPPORTERS FOR HB4993

Elliot Richardson President | Co-Founder Small Business Advocacy Council

David Oakes
Director of Business Services and District
Manager
Andersonville Chamber of Commerce

Nanette Gudenkauf President/CEO Bartlett Area Chamber of Commerce

Margaret Perreault
President & CEO
Batavia Chamber of Commerce

Reid Mackin Executive Director Belmont-Central CC

Amy Nord
Executive Director
Belvidere Area Chamber of Commerce

Lennie Shelton
Executive Director
Benton-West City Area Chamber of Commerce

Cindy Allston
President/CEO
Bloomingdale Chamber of Commerce

Lynn Caccavallo
President/CEO
Cary-Grove Area Chamber of Commerce

Rosemarie Brown
Executive Director
Chamber of Commerce Southwestern Madison

Doug Abolt
President & CEO
Charleston Area Chamber of Commerce

Terri Winfree
President
Chicago Southland Chamber of Commerce

Marian Brisard
Executive Director
Clinton Area Chamber of Commerce & Tourism
Bureau

Andrea Biwer
Executive Director
Des Plaines Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Ashlyn Kahl
Office Manager
East Peoria Chamber of Commerce

Jennifer A Herren
Executive Director
Edgebrook-Sauganash Chamber of Commerce

John Quigley
President and CEO
Elmhurst Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Garrett Karp
Executive Director
Evanston Chamber of Commerce

Laurie Kokenes
Executive Director
Forest Park Chamber of Commerce &
Development

Paula Schmidt
President
Geneva Chamber of Commerce and Visitors
Bureau

Cathy Voight
Executive Director
Gladstone Park Chamber of Commerce

Scott Adams
Executive Director
GLVM Chamber of Commerce

Felicia Slaton-Young (she/her/hers)

Executive Director

Greater Englewood Chamber of Commerce

Dave Carlin
Executive Director
Greater Oak Brook Chamber

Mike Putz
Executive Director
Greater Wheeling Area Chamber of Commerce

Jeanie Mayer Executive Director Hampshire Area Chamber of Commerce Ginny A. Glasner
President & CEO
Highland Park Chamber of Commerce

Eva J Field President & CEO Hinsdale Chamber of Commerce

Director
Illinois Small Business Development &
International Trade Center

Mitch Bienvenue

Bill Zens Executive Director Illinois Valley Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development

Lisa Musch President Jacksonville Area Chamber of Commerce

Lupe Tsironis
Executive Director
Jefferson Park Chamber of Commerce

Ashley Villarreal
Executive Director
Kankakee County Chamber of Commerce

Nancy Cummings
Executive Director
LaGrange Business Association

Shaunese Teamer Executive Director Lake County Chamber of Commerce

Maureen Martino

Executive Director
Lakeview East Chamber of Commerce

Becca Girsch Executive Director Lakeview Roscoe Village Chamber of Commerce

Claire Slattery
Executive Director
Lake Zurich Area Chamber of Commerce

Susan Thompson
President/Interim Executive Director
Lansing Area Chamber of Commerce



LIST OF SUPPORTERS FOR HB4993

Kim Schilf
Executive Director
Lincoln Park Chamber of Commerce

Nilda Esparza Executive Director Logan Square Chamber of Commerce

Melissa Infusino
President & CEO
Lombard Chamber of Commerce

Lauren Merritt
Executive Director
Macomb Area Chamber of Commerce

Tom Tyler
Executive Director
Metro-East Regional Chamber of Commerce

Caroline Connors Morgan Park Beverly Hills Business Association

Leigh Ann Brown
CEO & Executive Director
Morton Chamber of Commerce
Morton Economic Development Council

Rodney Brown
Executive Director/CEO
New Covenant Community Dev. Corp.

Kim Biederman
Executive Director
Niles Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Rodney Brown
Executive Committee member
North Lawndale Community Coordinating Council

Mario Farfan Executive Director Northwest Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Samantha Brewer
Executive Director
Norwood Chamber of Commerce

Liz Holt
Executive Director
OPRF Chamber of Commerce

Claudia Thornton
Executive Director
Orland Park Area Chamber of Commerce

Angie Hibben
President & CEO
Oswego Area Chamber of Commerce

Jeff Hettrick
Executive Director
Ottawa Area Chamber of Commerce

Jacqueline K. Mathews
Executive Director
Park Ridge Chamber of Commerce

Tasha Marsaglia
Executive Director
Plainfield Shorewood Area Chamber of
Commerce

Bogdan Pukszta Executive Director Polish American Chamber of Commerce

Amie Zander
Executive Director
Pulaski Elston Business Association

Rhonda Ludwig Director, Government Affairs Quad Cities Chamber

Einar Forsman
Executive Director
Rockford Chamber of Commerce

Einar Forsman
President & CEO
Greater Rockford Growth Partnership

Sandi Price Executive Director Rogers Park Business Alliance

Kris Noble
Executive Director
Sauk Valley Area Chamber

Amie Zander
Executive Director
Six Corners Association

Howard Meyer
Executive Director
Skokie Chamber of Commerce

Tonya Trice
Executive Director
South Shore Chamber of Commerce

Courtney Levy
Executive Director
Streator Chamber of Commerce

Laurrie Minor, PCED
Executive Director
Sullivan Chamber & Economic
Development

RoseMarie M. Treml
Executive Director
Sycamore Chamber of Commerce

Sarah Wilson
Executive Director
Uptown United & Uptown Chamber of
Commerce

Chevie Kriete
Executive Director
Washington Chamber of Commerce

Susan Aldous Executive Director West Town Chamber of Commerce

Larissa Tyler
Executive Director
West Ridge Chamber of Commerce

Pamela Maass Executive Director Wicker Park Bucktown Chamber of Commerce

Terry Dason
Executive Director
Winnetka-Northfield-Glencoe Chamber of
Commerce