

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR

Nominations for this award are requested from the general Shawnee Chamber of Commerce membership and the community. A committee of past recipients chooses the Citizen of the Year for their personal and company's outstanding contribution to the Shawnee community. There are no specific qualifications for the award other than a demonstrated effort to make Shawnee a better place to live, work and grow as judged each year by the past recipients.

Past Citizens of The Year Annual Dinner Award Recipients:

2022 Kevin Fern (Deceased) 2021 Neil Holman 2020 Gregg Amos 2019 Mickey Sandifer 2018 Vicki Charlesworth 2017 Kevin Tubbesing 2016 Charley Vogt 2015 Neal Sawyer 2014 Ron Freyermuth 2013 Paul Ridgway 2012 Dick Shull 2011 Joe Vohs 2010 Carol Gonzales 2009 Mayor Jeff Meyers 2008 Dan Land (Deceased) 2007 Ron Deffenbaugh (Deceased) 2006 Marilyn Breitenstein 2005 David Morris 2004 Tom Zarda 2003 Nicholas Pflumm (Deceased) 2002 Charles Goslin 2001 Police Chief Tom Hazelton 2000 Mayor Jim Allen 1999 Fire Chief Buck Hartley 1998 Joe Magyar (Deceased) 1997 Paul Scurlock (Deceased) 1996 Tom Coffman for Deffenbaugh Industries 1995 Shirley Douglas 1994 Ron Paplau 1993 Bill Nicks (Deceased)

> 1992 Mayor Bob Best 1991 Dorothy McMullen

1990 Joe Mayo (Deceased) 1989 Mayor Thomas A. "Tony" Soetaert (Deceased) 1988 Gary Montague 1987 Rob Roberts (Deceased)

1986 Barbara Yardley (Deceased)

1986 Barbara Yardiey (Deceased) 1985 J.D. Walden (Deceased)

1984 Vern McNatt (Deceased)

1983 Police Chief Charles Stump (Deceased)

1982 Coach Gennaro Mirocke (Deceased)

1981 Evelyn VanKemseke (Deceased)

1980 Betty Pease (Deceased)

1979 Duane Wills

1978 Ed Calkins

1977 Max Rieke (Deceased)

1976 Jack Waters

1975 William "Bill" Daniels (Deceased)

1974 Eugene "Gene" Amos (Deceased)

1973 J. Kenneth Thomas (Deceased)

1972 Bernard Sullivan (Deceased