

Kentucky Broadcasters Association Excellence in Broadcasting Awards

2023 Finalists

(Finalists are listed in random order. Excellence in Broadcasting winners and Legacy Awards will be announced at the KBA Annual Membership Conference in Covington on Monday September 25, 2023, at 6:30 p.m.)

RADIO Categories

Best Digital Product: Hannah Hageman, Jahmar Perkins and Adam May, WHOP-AM, Hopkinsville, "Hopkinsville's News Leader"; The Edge Media Group, Cadiz, "YourSportsEdge.Com."

Best Talk Show: Tom Martin, Neil Kesterson and Jeanne Marie Hibberd, WEKU-FM, Richmond, "Eastern Standard - RISE"; Amy Stroud, WYKY-FM, Somerset, "Mid-Mornings with Amy."

Rookie of the Year: WKMS-FM, Murray, Derek Operle.

Station of the Year: Mike Savage, WEKU-FM, Richmond; Steve Turner, Vic Evans and Tatum Helm, WLME-FM, Owensboro, "102.7 The Game."

Best Locally Produced Commercial: Brandon Brockwell, WFGS-FM, Farmington, "Sullivan Dental Partners - Halloween Commercial"; John Morgan Francis, Kyle Rader and Michael Davis, WKDZ-FM, Cadiz, "Ferrell's."

Best Morning Show: Trisha Caudill and Brian Walker, WQXE-FM, Elizabethtown, "Brian & Trisha in the Morning"; Jason Crockett and Ken Heron, WJLI-FM, Paducah, "JC and Ken 'Brew Crew Morning Show'."

Best News Coverage: Karyn Czar and Josh James, WUKY-FM, Lexington, "A 100 Year Flood in Eastern Kentucky"; Tom Martin, Neil Kesterson and Jeanne Marie Hibberd, WEKU-FM, Richmond, "Swept Away - The 2022 Kentucky Flood."

Best Sports Play by Play: Nathan Lyttle, WSGS-FM, Hazard; Trevor Rice, WTTL-FM, Madisonville, "7th District Championship Thriller."



TELEVISION Categories

Best Sportscast: John Lowe, Courtney Layne Brewer and Nate Johnson, WYMT-TV, Hazard, "Sports Overtime"; WKYT-TV, Lexington, "All Blue Preview."

Best Weathercast: Kevin Harned, WAVE-TV, Louisville, "Derby Events Forecast"; Brandon Robinson, Cameron Aaron and Evan Hatter, WYMT-TV, Hazard, "Overnight Flooding Coverage."

Rookie of the Year: WDKY-TV, Lexington, Tyler Melito; WYMT-TV, Hazard, Olivia Calfee.

Station of the Year: Lisa Columbia, WHAS-TV, Louisville; John O'Brien and Jenelle Shriner, WAVE-TV, Louisville.

Best Digital Product: Cara Sabin and WDRB News, WDRB-TV, Louisville; WHAS-TV, Louisville.

Best Evening Newscast: Chris Gegg and Megan Short, WHAS-TV, Louisville; WDRB-TV, Louisville.

Best Locally Produced Commercial: Keith Earl and Dean Handy, WKYT-TV, Lexington, "Lex Fire Dept.: Do You Have What it Takes?"; Amber Gardner-Rojas and Spencer Moye, WNKY-TV, Bowling Green, "Garcia's Restaurant."

Best Morning Newscast: Chris Gegg and Berry Stockton, WHAS-TV, Louisville, "Good Morning Kentuckiana"; Katelyn Hempel and Makayla Ballman, WAVE-TV, Louisville, "News Sunrise: Old National Bank Shooting."