

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Robert Agrusa President/CEO Central Florida Hotel & Lodging Association (407) 907-8082 <u>Robert.Agrusa@CFHLA.org</u>

CFHLA PAC AND PC CONGRATULATES THE 14 ENDORSED PRIMARY ELECTION WINNERS

Orlando, Fla (August 24, 2022) – The Central Florida Hotel and Lodging Association's (CFHLA) PAC and PC Board of Directors would like to congratulate the following 14 endorsed state and local candidates who won their respective Primary Elections yesterday.

The CFHLA PAC and PC Board of Directors was also proud to see the passage of the continuation of the one-mill property tax (by over 82%), in support of our Orange County Public Schools.

"CFHLA PAC and PC would like to congratulate the 14 pro-hospitality candidates, who were able to successfully win their primary elections, either outright or advanced to the general election," said Jay Leonard, General Manager of the Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, and the Chairman of the CFHLA PAC and PC. "Each of these candidates campaigned on being a champion for the tourism and hospitality industry and we believe the voters backed up that support by showing up to the polls."

Robert Agrusa, President and CEO of the Central Florida Hotel and Lodging Association went on to say, "Each of these winning candidates has shown an outstanding track record of public service, problem solving and proven results for our Central Florida community. We were excited to support this diverse and bi-partisan group of candidates in the Primary Election and we look forward to continuing to educate the voters on the importance of their ultimate election on the November 8th General Election ballot."

Elected:

- Jerry L. Demings, Orange County Mayor
- Christine Moore, Orange County Commission District 2

- Cheryl Grieb, Osceola County Commission, District 4
- Teresa Jacobs, Orange County School Board, Chair
- Angie Gallo, Orange County School Board, District 1

Won Primary Election and advanced to the General Election:

- Jason Brodeur (R), Florida Senate District 9
- Fred Hawkins (R), Florida House District 35
- Rachel Plakon (R), Florida House District 36
- David Smith (R), Florida House District 38
- Doug Bankson (R), Florida House District 39
- Lavon Bracy Davis (D), Florida House District 40
- Maribel Gomez Cordero, Orange County Commission, District 4
- Jay Zembower, Seminole County Commission, District 2
- Alicia Farrant, Orange County School Board, District 3

Advanced to the General Election without opposition:

- Keith Truenow (R), Florida House District 26
- Johanna Lopez (D), Florida House District 43
- Kristen Arrington (D), Florida House District 46
- Viviana Janer (D), Osceola County Commission, District 2
- Amy Lockhart (R), Seminole County Commission, District 4

The Central Florida Hotel and Lodging Association's mission is to advance tourism and the community through hospitality. As the world's largest regional lodging association, CFHLA represents approximately 80 percent of the more than 129,500 hotel rooms in Orange, Seminole and Osceola counties, and nearly 500 "supplier" organizations that do business with the hospitality and tourism industries.

For more information on the Central Florida Hotel and Lodging Association, please visit <u>www.cfhla.org</u>.

###