

MHC Housing Coalition Offers Endorsements for 2023 Municipal Candidates

This November, municipalities across metro Denver will be holding elections with far reaching implications for the residential construction industry and our ability to meet the housing needs of Colorado residents. With attainable housing in metro Denver consistently ranked as one of this year's most critical issues, the Metro Housing Coalition has made a concerted effort to elect more pro-housing candidates up and down the ballot. Issues like inclusionary zoning, net zero energy, rent control, metro districts, permitting delays and construction defects have been top of mind for elected officials and policymakers over the past couple years, and all will have a huge impact on residential construction for many years to come – making this year's election extremely important for our industry.

To that end, The MHC Board just completed its outreach campaign for the fall election cycle. In total, 107 questionnaires were sent to candidates in 12 different municipalities. 47 follow-up candidate interviews were conducted, and 36 candidates ultimately received the MHC's endorsement. While this process can feel a bit arduous, it is invaluable for the HBA to get to know the new and returning elected officials who will be making important decisions that will significantly impact our industry for years to come. We appreciate all of the MHC board members who took time out of their busy schedules to participate in this important process.

Below, are the 2023 Municipal Candidates that Received the MHC's Endorsement:

Arvada

John Marriott, Mayor Michael Griffith, City Council District 2 Bob Loveridge, City Council At-Large

Aurora

Mike Coffman, Mayor Stephanie Hancock, City Council Ward 4 Angela Lawson, City Council Ward 5 Francoise Bergan, City Council Ward 6 Curtis Gardner, City Council At-Large Jono Scott, City Council At-Large

Brighton

Tom Green, City Council Ward 1

Broomfield

Guyleen Castriotta, Mayor Kenny Nguyen, City Council Ward 1 Peter Crouse, City Council Ward 3 Laurie Anderson, City Council Ward 4 Castle Pines

Deborah Mulvey, City Council District 1

Centennial

Amy Tharp, City Council District 1 Christine Sweetland, City Council District 2 Richard Holt, City Council District 3 Donald Sheehan, City Council District 4

Commerce City

Rene Bullock, Mayor Rocky Teter, City Council Ward 2 Rich Trujillo, City Council Ward 3 David Diop, City Council Ward 4 Craig Hurst, City Council At-Large Charles Dukes, City Council At-Large

Littleton

Christopher Campbell, City Council At-Large

Longmont

Harrison Earl, City Council Ward 1 Nia Wassink, City Council Ward 1 Gary Hodges, City Council Ward 3

Thornton

Jan Kulmann, Mayor Eric Garcia, City Council Ward 1 Angie Bedolla, City Council Ward 2 David Acunto, City Council Ward 3 Nicole Matkowsky, City Council Ward 4

Westminster

Richard Seymour, City Council At-Large Timothy Pegg, City Council At-Large Claire Carmelia, City Council At-Large Amber Holt, City Council At-Large Jeff Jones, City Council At-Large

* Every candidate in the above municipalities had an opportunity to submit a questionnaire to be interviewed, those who chose not to respond were not considered in the vetting process.